Magic Mushrooms

Been away working again harrowing fields, which I found out was towing chains around on a quad bike or tractor to harrow, in layman’s terms breaking up horse poo when theres too much to pick. Sounds boring but when the sun was beating down with my hair colour and skin rubbishness made it worse. But it was a good time to have a think and look at how many mushrooms were about, which was backed up by having a mushroom lasagna the previous evening. So I took some pictures in the dead of night with beer in hand.


     

This was a Tuesday and left to swirl around for a bit when on Sunday slightly hungover from a friends birthday I had time to sit and do a few sketches of what might live around here.

      

The original thought was I could change the colour balence to make it look like an alien world but didn’t work soI just kept it as these little mushroom creatures. This could go somewhere, I’ve got 3 ideas for storys, 2 are animations and this one is more book than animation. But heres a watercolour I did, this could go somewhere but I need to get my writing and idea head on. I’m juggling to many hats as a old tutor would say.

In other news I bumped into a old classmate from high school and foundation, Samuel Higley and you can check out his work on tumblr here http://silversleeves.tumblr.com/ his work is jaw-dropingly good.

This entry was posted in Illustration, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Magic Mushrooms

  1. Fabulous – I’m a big fan of mushrooms too. And horse poo [I have an allotment] :)

    • controlstate says:

      Thanks :) the puffballs were especially good. I really like your drawings, reminds me to keep drawing from real life and not get lost in my imagination so much hah.

Leave a Reply

